Triple Negative Breast Cancer…not only that but its at least a Stage 3a.  

According to the National Breast Cancer Foundation, “Triple negative breast cancer occurs in about 10-20% of diagnosed breast cancers and is more likely to affect younger people, African Americans, Hispanics, and/or those with a BRCA1 gene mutation.”  Well, since I am not a younger woman (I just turned 40), I’m not African American or Hispanic; I must have the BRCA1 gene mutation.  

As far as we know, I’m at a Stage 3a.  I have already had the Echocardiogram and the MRI of the Brain.  The MRI was supposed to be of both my Brain and my Breasts, but they apparently only did my Brain (at least they found one).  But I felt like a sardine in a tin can the entire time.  So needless to say, I’m pissed that I have to feel like a sardine again so they can do the MRI on my Breasts.  But at least this will tell us if it’s still only a Stage 3a or if it is a Stage 4.  

To say that we are praying for it to stay a Stage 3, is like saying every child is praying for Christmas Break to hurry up and get here.  I don’t even mind if it goes from a Stage 3a to a Stage 3b or c.  As long as it stays a Stage 3.  

Friday I had my Chemo port put in.  I never realized how much I used my neck when I would move until now.  Every time I sit up or try to adjust, my neck begins to hurt worse because of the movement.  This pain is worse than any other out-patient surgery I have ever had before.  I’m still not able to lift my arms very high and any time I move my neck or have to move my body in a certain way, I have shooting pains going up and down my neck and arm.  You wouldn’t think you use your neck to adjust yourself in bed to get more comfortable, but you actually do.  

Today starts a very busy week.  Monday and Tuesday I have my first two Chemotherapy treatments. Wednesday is my Breast MRI, and Thursday is when I get my final diagnosis from my Oncologist.  I have no idea what to expect.  I’ve read some stuff on the Breast Cancer websites that say that the first few treatments will make me tired and have a lack of appetite.  I also read that it will be about day 14 where I will lose my hair.

I finally joined some support groups on Facebook and through the National Breast Cancer Foundation.  I know I am blessed to have two of the most special people with me during this, but I also know that I am going to need other women who are going through this with me to lean on.  I don’t want to add to the weight on their shoulders already.  I love them so much, I want to take as much of this from them as I can.

I’m glad I have found the support groups on Facebook.  I’ve had a lot of amazing women comment on my post with positive responses.  Many of them telling me to take things one day at a time and to not be scared to take the time to rest.  Most of them have said that this is a “journey” (hmmm….go figure….lol) and that I shouldn’t worry about anything else but taking care of myself.  

I’ve been starting to go through my clothing and make sure what I have is all soft and comfy for me to wear during this period.  There’s just something inside me telling me that I am going to want the soft material against my skin during Chemotherapy.   

I’m finding that my pain is getting worse.  It sucks because this is my right arm and hand and this is my dominate arm/hand.  I hate having to keep taking the pain medication, but I can’t seem to find a medical strain that works for me that won’t make my entire body shake from anxiety.  I just wish I could get it more manageable,  I don’t seem to sleep well through the night.  I’m so tired throughout the day, and there is so much left to do.  

 

Listening to: “I’m Going To Love You Through It” by Martina McBride

2 thoughts on “Triple Negative Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

